No Announcement posts

About Us

  • SW banner1
  • SW banner21
  • SW banner 71
  • SW banner 61

Scuba West has been helping divers since 1968.

In 1968 Chuck and Joanne Hettel opened Scuba West from their home in New Port Richey. Eleven years later, cave explorer Paul Heinerth purchased Scuba West and was at the helm for 29 years. In 2006, Paul sold Scuba West to longtime PADI Course Director and scuba retailer, Jeff Tobey. 

For 25 years, Jeff had owned six dive centers in Chicago and the Phoenix area, worked as a dive industry consultant and was a Course Director for the largest PADI Career Development Center in the world, helping hundreds of divers begin careers of their own in scuba.

Visit our 2 1/2 acre facility including heated pool and open water dive site – Hudson Grotto

Learn with confidence! Our experienced staff include PADI Instructors, Master Scuba Diver Trainers and Course Directors.

Choose from the top brands worldwide! Purchase, rent or have your gear serviced by our pros!

Jeff Tobey

Jeff TobeyJeff has been actively involved in diving for over 27 years. He has owned six dive centers throughout the country, as well as worked as a PADI Course Director for the largest PADI Career Development Center in the US, Pro Dive in Ft. Lauderdale.

With his 23 year old son Christian, he heads Scuba West, a 49 year old PADI IDC facility. Jeff was previously a professional musician, pro audio technician touring with many top acts in the 80’s, and spent many years managing large bowling centers in Chicago.

Today, he spend his time at Scuba West and as a Scoutmaster for a Boy Scout troop in Springhill, Florida.


Christian Tobey

Christian Tobey has been a staff member of Scuba West since 2006. He is a PADI Advanced Open Water Diver and Enriched Air Diver. His job duties at Scuba West includes pool maintenance, inventory control and tank services.

Christian is also an Assistant Scout Master for Troop 303 in Springhill Florida. His scouting accomplishments include becoming an Eagle Scout in 2012 ans being inducted into BSA order of the Arrow. 

Matt Root

Derek Akers

Robert Klaritsch

James Pendenza